Since 1982, in order to encourage the publication of books of scientific and general interest, the IAPN gives an honorary prize for the best numismatic publication of the year.

The prize consists of a medal, a diploma as well as a monetary award.
Books suitable for the prize must be submitted to the Chairman of the Publication committee 90 days before the General Assembly of the Association.

The previous Winners of the IAPN Book Prize are :

1982 : M.J. Price (Editor), Coins, 650 BC to the Present Day.

1983 : D. Sear, Greek Imperial Coins.

1984 : E.R. Duncan Elias, Anglo-Gallic Coins.

1985 : D.M. Metcalf, Coinage of the Crusades and the Latin East in the Ashmolean Museum Oxford.

1986 : D. Eustache, Corpus des Monnaies Alawites (Banque du Maroc).

1987 : Ph. Grierson & M. Blackburn, Medeval European Coinage I, The Early Middle Ages.

1988 : R. Calciati, Corpus Nummorum Siculorum I-III.

1989 : D.R. Cooper, The Art and Craft of Coin Making: A History of Minting Technology.

1990 : R.D. van Arsdell, Celtic Coinage of Britain.

1991 : G.K. Jenkins & M. Castro Hipolito, A Catalogue of the Calouste Gulbenkian Collection of Greek Coins, Part II, Lisboa.

1992 : D. Gill, The Coinage of Ethiopia; Eritrea and Italian Somaliland.

1993 : R. Friedberg, Gold Coins of the World from Ancient Times to the Present.

1994 : Ms. M. Caccamo Caltabiano, La Monetazione di Messana.

1995 : Stephen Scher, The Currency of Fame. Portrait medals of the Renaissance.

1996 : U. Klein & A. Raff, Die Württembergischen Medaillen von 1496-1797.

1997 : Sabine Bourgey, Trésor – Légendes et Réalités.

1998 : Money a History & The Story of Money (British Museum).

1999 : P. Voltolina, La Storia di Venezia attraverso le medaglie dal XIV al XIX secolo.

2000 : David L. Vagi, Coinage and History of the Roman Empire (2 volumes).

2001 : E. Diakov, Russian Coins of Peter the Great.

2002 : H.E. Manville, Tokens of the Industrial Revolution 1787-1828.

2003 : A. Houghton & C. Lorber, Seleucid Coins (2 volumes).

2004 : C. Dekesel, Bibliography of the 17th Century Numismatic Books.

2005 : S. Cudazzo, Monete Italiane Regionali, Casa Savoia.

2006 : M. Mehl, Die Münzen des Stiftes Quedlinburg, ISBN 3-933420-02-4. 

2007 : J. Vico Monteoliva et al., Corpus Nummorum Visigothorum, ISBN 84-609-8913-5.

2008 : McAlee, Richard, The Coins of Roman Antioch, ISBN 0-9709268-9-8.

2009 : Hurter, S. Mani, Die Didrachmenprägung von Segesta, ISBN 978-3-033015-64.

2010 : Zöttl, Helmut, Salzburg, Münzen und Medaillen 1500-1800. 2 volumes, ISBN 978-3-9502590-0-1 / -1-8

2011 : Eimer, Christopher, British Commerative Medals and Their Values, ISBN 978-1-907427-06-0.


2012 : Janson, Hector Carlos, La Moneda Circulante en el Territorio Argentino 1574 – 2010, published by the author.


2013 : Krisadaolarn, Ronachai/Mihailovs, Vasilijs, Siamese Coins from Funan to the Fifth Reign.


2014: Vecchi, Italo, Italian Cast Coinage, A descriptive catalogue of the Cast Bronze Coinage and its struck counterparts in ancient Italy from the 7th to 3rd centuries BC, 2013, ISBN978-0-9575784-0-1.

2015 IAPN Book Prize Winer

2015: CRIPPA, Carlo e Silvana, Le Monete di Milano, Milano 2014.

2016 IAPN Book Prize Winner

2016: VANHOUDT, Hugo, De munten van de Bourgondische, Spaanse en Oostenrijkse Nederlanden en van de Franse en Hollandse periode, Heverlee 2015, ISBN 978-90-802-8784-3

2017 IAPN Book Prize Winner

2017: PANGERL, Andreas, Portraits: 500 Years of Roman Coin Portraits, hardbound, STAATLICHE MUENZSAMMLUNG MUENCHEN (Munich, GER) 2017, ISBN: 978-3-922840-36-7

2018: STEVENS, Paul, The Coins of the English East India Company: Presidency Series. A Catalogue and Pricelist, hardbound, Spink Books (January 31, 2018), ISBN-13: 978-1907427701



2019: LORBER, C. Catherine, Coins of the Ptolemaic Empire (2 vols.), hardbound, American Numismatic Society (2018), ISBN: 978-0-89722-356-0