IAPN Congress, Amsterdam 2016

The IAPN (International Association of Professional Numismtists) held its 65th annual general assembly from Thursday 5th May to Sunday 8 May 2016, in Amsterdam, Holland. The association has 100 members from five continents. 39 numismatic companies sent representatives, and there were a further 30 in attendance by proxy.

Since its founding, this is the second time that the IAPN has held a general assembly in Amsterdam. The association is not for profit and was formed in 1951 in the wake of the second world war at a time when the professional numismatics faced serious challenges. Now, just as in 1951, the objectives of the IAPN are the development of a healthy numismatic market conducted with the highest standards of ethics and good practise, to encourage academic research, to popularise numismatics and to create strong and lasting working relationships between professional numismatists the world over. The annual congress is a chance for IAPN members, the most prestigious numismatists and numismatic companies, to meet each other and discuss the major issues affecting the industry.

The general assembly at Amsterdam was organised by Andrew Absil of Schulman b.v., together with his Amsterdam based team, and at the welcoming cocktail party the president of the association continued the theme with brief history of Dutch numismatics and commerce in Amsterdam. During the two congress business sessions the members discussed topics ranging from counterfeiting to new international laws affecting numismatic trade today. During the working sessions the passing of formers members was respectfully marked as we remembered Gérard Barré, Tom Cederling and Dieter Raab while, by coincidence, we also welcomed three new members:

Kapaan & Mades Münzhandels GbR, Herr Philip Kapaan, Brüderstrasse 2, DE – 44787 Bochum – Germany

Lustig, Andrew, Rare Coins, Inc., Mr. Andy Lustig, P.O. Box 806, US – Nyack, NY 10960 – U.S.A.

Oslo Myntgalleri a/s, Mr. Gunnar Thesen, P.O.Box 1403 Vika, NO – 0115 Oslo – Norway.


The association awards and annual prize for numismatic literature and this year’s winner was

Vanhoudt Hugo, with

De munten van de bourgondische, spaanse en oostenrijkse nederlanden en van de franse en hollandse periode


Second prize went to

Rizzolli H., Pigozzo F., with

Der veroneser Wahrungsraum, Verona und Tirol


Third prize went to

Frynas, J. G., with

Medieval Coins of Bohemia, Hungary and Poland


The three winners were chosen from a short list of 12 excellent numismatic publications all of which were donated to the Amsterdam Library.

The attending members enjoyed fine weather while they toured the city by canal boat, then visited the national maritime museum and boarded a Dutch East India Company trading ship replica where a guide described life on board the often perilous, six to nine month crossings endured by VOC sailors. On another excursion the members enjoyed a one and a half hour cruise to and around the beautiful windmill region of Zaanse Schans. And at the final evening Gala Dinner €2860 was raised for the charity “Medical Care for Africa”.

The next congress will take place in Lucerne in 2017 and will be organised by Ulf Kuenker of Hess Divo AG, Zurich.